New Feature: QSO Map

Working on something here. Not thrilled with the tabs adding a bunch of negative space, but there could be other options for that. Thoughts?

9 Likes

I like it. I would love a way to select what to appear by default, if map or log, and if is possible, put like an icon to identify if a possible dupe is happening…

1 Like

amazing. I can’t tell you how valuable this would be in the field… it’s not just a pretty map. Being able to see where you’re propogating in real time would aid in antenna setup.

any time I post a QSO map, I ALWAYS get a request as to how I did it.
One thing to consider, if it’s not a huge load of programming, is to higlight the line by band. People always ask about that as well. For instance 20m = red, 40m = orange, etc.

AAAAANNNNDDDD: you will definitely be asked for a way to export that map. It’s coming, may as well figure it in now.

5 Likes

As a GIS developer, I say maps make everything better :grin:

3 Likes

I love the propagation aspect of it. Being able to see where you are getting out is very valuable!

3 Likes

Love it!! Will there be a way to save the map off as an image file?

3 Likes

Ahem… ^^^ told ya^^^

1 Like

This will be amazing thanks for all your hard work! If you are concerned about the negative space created by the tabs you could fill that space with pertinent information like Distance of the contact highlighted, Grid number or something like that.

1 Like

@KD2TJU You called it :wink:

@W4LLS - Yeah I think I can get something done. Maybe not for the initial release of the feature, you’ll have to resort to a screenshot, but I can figure something out. It’s a live map, so you can leave it open and watch QSOs pop into it. It’s pretty fun :wink:

2 Likes

You could have another tab that has a map that shows the location of all of the other activators, that you pull from the POTA API…

Which you can click on, and it will fill in their data in the log area.

Cool deal! Can’t wait to see it!